Where is Unity? Where is the 3D?

Hi folks!

Some of you maybe noticed the description of the last footage video on our YouTube channel or the post of the SFML forums :

The footage provide you some example of what the project is on SFML, before I take a great turn and went on Unity3D, for the pleasure of your eyes and fingers.

So, you will ask me : where is the 3D? How far did you go on Unity?

Well, the answer is simple : I didn’t go far enough to have some playable demo. :)

Here is the feedback.

Unity is a great software. Its GUI is really well done, intuitive and all. The project structure, resource management, scene setup are really well done and I would recommend it as a great video game making software for intermediate game makers.

Why didn’t I continued on it if it is so well easy to handle?

First, because I’ve been thinking for more than a year about how a game should work, how to organize my project, how my classes should be, and despite the easiness of a full-fledged game making software, I wanted to go with what I did. I wanted to proceed further in my game engine, make it more optimized, better thought, more well done and of course, I wanted to go through the entire course to do a video game.

Second, Unity have its own way to think and I have my own way to think. All in unity is about GameObject. If I want some manager, supervisor or other invisible object, it has to be a GameObject. Unity use C# or javascript as script language, and I don’t really want to begin learning theses languages as I want to specialize myself in C++. It mean a lot of time used to change my way of thinking and to learn new languages.

Third, despite the ships and background are rendered from a 3D software, I love the 2D! Having the game in 2D give it a particular feel that can’t be found in 3D games, plus the facility to work in 2D space instead of 3D space. Having a full 3D background and a layered 2D background is really different after all.

Well, I hope you understand what I mean, if you don’t, I’ll make sure you will. ;)

As a result, I returned to my old game engine, reworking it and proudly naming it “Excellence Engine”, or also “ExEngine” or “ExE”. In some way, you can tell I’m programming a 2D shooting game engine. I surely will speak about it in further articles, including the game/stage editor.

2 thoughts on “Where is Unity? Where is the 3D?

  1. How are you going to handle levels/patterns . Through scripting/lua ? I am looking forward to this aspect which may be the hardest.

    • I’ll use scripting/lua only as last resort solution. For levels and pattern, I halfly thought how I’ll handle it, but I think I’ll do as I always did : create a robust, bug free and complete collection of classes and link them by binary files with the level/game editor, providing a full graphical gui. :) I’ll speak about it on another articles.

Leave a comment